Tuesday, December 8, 2009

Doing grown-up things...

So i decided to go home last weekend to relax and get away from all the work I've been having to do for my classes. It was nice to hang out with mama and papa dukes, and to be away from everyone. Sometimes going to bed at 11 on a friday night in a quiet house is nice, especially after a long period of time being away from home. But soon to follow my arrival in Marlton, NJ, was a conversation with my dad about me getting a credit card. I know I should have had one by now, but I hated the idea of me carrying a card that allows me to purchase items without having the money to pay for them at that time. He reminded me of how crucial it was to establish credit for myself so I can eventually rent/buy my own place, buy or lease a car, or do anything else when I get out of school. So i decided I'm going to apply for a bunch and see what happens. I don't understand though, in order to be approved for a credit card, most holders require a person to have good credit. I applied for one at Wachovia and was denied, because I didn't have any credit. How am I supposed to have credit, when I can't get a credit card to establish a good credit score in the first place. I know there are other ways, and the only other way is the comcast bill under my name for a year. So I have to continue my quest to find a company who will trust in my weak credit score as of now, and give me some good news, because that 46" plasma tv will look pretty good on my wall in my place next year...

No comments:

Post a Comment